cGs! mIKE

how to replace mission icons with custom?

26 posts in this topic

So as the title says,

Is there a way to make DMS missions use a custom icon set?    I hate how the dots with color going around them looks.  I'd like to create my own 2x2 pixel icon that will be used to show mission difficulty.

Please advise if and where I would look to change or add something like this?  I'd pay for a fix!

thank you,

Mike

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know you can use other in game markers: in scripts/DMS_fnc_CreateMarker.sqf

Quote

_circle = createMarker [format ["DMS_MissionMarkerCircle%1_%2",_num,round(time)], _pos];
_circle setMarkerColor _color;
_circle setMarkerShape "ELLIPSE";
_circle setMarkerBrush "Solid";
_circle setMarkerSize [150,150];

_dot = createMarker [format ["DMS_MissionMarkerDot%1_%2",_num,round(time)], _pos];
_dot setMarkerColor "ColorBlack";
_dot setMarkerType "mil_dot";
_dot setMarkerText _text;

you may need to find out how to use your own custom marker poking around at https://community.bistudio.com/wiki/getMarkerType

hope that helps

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Advertisement
class CfgMarkers {
		class mrk_name : b_unknown {
          name = "name";
          icon = "\markers\name.paa";
          shadow = true;
          scope = 1;
          color[] = {1, 1, 1, 1};
		};
};

add this class in your config.cpp

2 people like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, GR8 said:

class CfgMarkers {
		class mrk_name : b_unknown {
          name = "name";
          icon = "\markers\name.paa";
          shadow = true;
          scope = 1;
          color[] = {1, 1, 1, 1};
		};
};

add this class in your config.cpp

Thanks for the reply, (hot logo btw as we all know).   One question now,  do we call it into the mission files for whatever we choose as the "name"?   or what class name would be replacing the "mil" icon that most missions use. 

I assume our choice of name = "name";  correct?

2 people like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

when placing inside my config as shown,  I get the following error on server launch.  error.jpg.26bf6844268a07c28c517bd3ab0c07

 

what would be causing this?   Sorry for the annoying newb question.  This is new to me. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

add 

class b_unknown;

after:

class CfgMarkers {

Name the marker whatever you want to call it. Make sure the icon is 2X2 or 4X4 or 8X8px and so on.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)

That was perfect!  thanks GR8!

 

Edited by Sjolie

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

now that the server loads,  the icon isn't showing,  however this is in my RPT errors:

 

Spoiler

19:12:22 Warning Message: No entry 'bin\config.bin/CfgMarkers.easy'.
19:12:22 Warning Message: No entry '.icon'.
19:12:22 Warning Message: '/' is not a value
19:12:22 Warning Message: No entry '.size'.
19:12:22 Warning Message: '/' is not a value
19:12:22 Warning Message: No entry 'bin\config.bin/CfgMarkerColors.'.
19:12:22 Warning Message: No entry '.color'.
19:12:22 Warning Message: Size: '/' not an array
19:12:22 Warning Message: Size: '/' not an array

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
21 minutes ago, Sjolie said:

now that the server loads,  the icon isn't showing,  however this is in my RPT errors:

 

  Hide contents

19:12:22 Warning Message: No entry 'bin\config.bin/CfgMarkers.easy'.
19:12:22 Warning Message: No entry '.icon'.
19:12:22 Warning Message: '/' is not a value
19:12:22 Warning Message: No entry '.size'.
19:12:22 Warning Message: '/' is not a value
19:12:22 Warning Message: No entry 'bin\config.bin/CfgMarkerColors.'.
19:12:22 Warning Message: No entry '.color'.
19:12:22 Warning Message: Size: '/' not an array
19:12:22 Warning Message: Size: '/' not an array

 

Put the scope to 2.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)

I'm getting the same error in the RPT log

this is what my mission.sqm is using to call the icon:  

class Item12
        {
            position[]={6336.71,304.99371,7809.5967};
            name="Stary Traders";
            text="Traders";
            type="easy";
            colorName="[1, 1, 1, 1]";
        };

 

am I doing that part wrong?   I'll paypal you some money if I can get this thing figured out. 

do I need to change type to "b_unknown_easy"?  

----- Edit---  just tried b_unkown_easy and same errors:

Spoiler

20:05:32 Warning Message: No entry 'bin\config.bin/CfgMarkers.b_unknown_easy'.
20:05:32 Warning Message: No entry '.icon'.
20:05:32 Warning Message: '/' is not a value
20:05:32 Warning Message: No entry '.size'.
20:05:32 Warning Message: '/' is not a value
20:05:32 Warning Message: No entry 'bin\config.bin/CfgMarkerColors.[1, 1, 1, 1]'.
20:05:32 Warning Message: No entry '.color'.
20:05:32 Warning Message: Size: '/' not an array
20:05:32 Warning Message: Size: '/' not an array

 

Edited by Sjolie

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Advertisement

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.