Bulleit

Getting started - list of available Exile variables?

11 posts in this topic

I've been searching but couldn't find answers. Apologies if this is the wrong place to post this - not sure where else to ask. I'm a noob to Arma scripting.

Here's my question: is there a place to find a list of available variables that can be used in a script? 

For example, take this code:

_playerUID = getPlayerUID player;
{
	_flag = _x;
	_name = _flag getVariable ["ExileTerritoryName", ""];
}
forEach (allMissionObjects "Exile_Construction_Flag_Static");

How would I know that there is a variable named 'ExileTerritoryName" attached to the player object? I didn't see a class definition, or initialization script, or anything indicating what variables are available.

unpack ExileClient and start digging :P We've all done it :D

1 person likes this

Advertisement

Best place to look is in the database initialization / load scripts and the trading related ones. You'll need to also open up the server side functions as some variables are broadcast from there too.

Good luck and welcome to the party.

Posted (edited)

3 hours ago, Taylor Swift said:

unpack ExileClient and start digging :P We've all done it :D

2 hours ago, Apoc said:

Best place to look is in the database initialization / load scripts and the trading related ones. You'll need to also open up the server side functions as some variables are broadcast from there too.

I was afraid you'd say that :]

Thanks for the info - just wanted to be sure I wasn't missing a wiki or something.

Last question - given a variable (say, _player), is there a way to var_dump(_player) or print(_player) or console.log(_player)... basically is there a way to dump its contents to see what's in there for debugging purposes? Or is there a better resource I can look up for this type of information (haven't had much luck finding anything yet).

Edited by Bulleit

Posted (edited)

6 hours ago, Bulleit said: