BDC

Client ID Framework and RZDHelper

9 posts in this topic

Howdy folks, my name's BDC and I'm an active Arma scripter guy that's been writing small scripts and mods for the past several years since DayZ time. I've been writing code for Arma 3 for about three years now with much of it being focused on a campaign-level multiplayer mission (for Altis as well as variants for other maps) that's taken about 2 1/2 years to write and perfect. Since then, I've recently setup an Exile mod server and started writing things for it, which brings me to the point of this post.

The reason for my post is about two things I've been working on; one of which I just today got working. I've called them 'Client ID Framework' and 'RZD Helper' respectively.

A bit about the two:

The Client ID Framework is a small set of eventhandlers that grab and log the owner/client ID's of both headless clients and players that log in that can be used for two-way acknowledgements and ultimately the offloading of spawned AI from one instance to another via setGroupOwner command. What initially brought me to writing it is a desire for my being able to run ExileZ w/ Ryan's Zombies and Demons on my own box but offload the AI to a headless client. I've modified ExileZ with a few additional configuration options where I tell it what headless client to offload AI to on-the-fly; not with a client ID or a configured name in the mission file, but rather literally by the number of the headless clients in the order they've connected to the server. I've verified that it works by log files that are configured to be turned on that show when units have been transferred over to a specific HC.